Germany Is The 2014 FIFA World Cup Champions

2829 People Viewed - about 51 months ago Sports

2014 World Cup Champion Germany

After a 120 miutes' fierce fight, dust has all settled.Germany are the 2014 FIFA World Cup champions, lifting the Trophy for the fourth time in their history after overcoming Argentina and it culminated in Philipp Lahm raising that famous piece of gold to the skies.

The only and slugging out goal came at 113 minutes in the second half of extra time.It's Mario Götze had taken down Schürrle’s cross on his chest with his first touch. His second was to arrow a left-foot volley into the net and that ensured Germany would always remember Rio de Janeiro with the same fondness as Bern in 1954, Munich in 1974 and Rome in 1990.

the only goal of Mario Gotze

Lionel Messi took home one prize Sunday, but it wasn't the one he had been pursuing for nearly a decade. Other World Cup awards went to German keeper Manuel Neuer, who won the Golden Glove as the tournament's best goalie, and Colombia's James Rodriguez, who won the Golden Boot by leading the tournament in scoring with six goals.

“We’ve been together as a squad now for 55 days, but we started this project 10 years ago, beginning with Jurgen Klinsmann,” said the manager of Germany Lowe during the aftermatch interview. “We’d not made this ultimate step before, but champions do what they will do. This team has developed a spirit which is unbelievable. We’re proud to be the first European team to win a title in Latin America, in Rio, in Brazil and this makes us proud.”

Klinsmann and lowe

What's Hot
More Trending News
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Pinterest