2014 Nobel Prize in Literature is Announced on Thursday 8 October

2323 People Viewed - about 50 months ago Culture

 The 2014 Nobel Prize for physics has been awarded to a trio of scientists in Japan and the US for the invention of LED

Three Nobel Prizes have already been announced this week, and it's soon time for the highbrow culture event of the year. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences will reveal the recipient of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature is announced on Thursday 8 October at noon BST.

The secretive academy drops no hints on who they are considering but Permanent Secretary Peter Englund said this year's long-list started with 210 nominees, including 36 first-timers.

Of 210 nominations, here's a look at the favourites in the running this year:.

Potential surprises

Chinese novelist Mo Yan won the prize in 2012

Even literary critics were taken aback by announcements of winners such as Austria's Elfriede Jelinek in 2004, who was largely unknown outside the German-speaking world at the time, French writer Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio in 2008 and Chinese novelist Mo Yan in 2012.

Part of the reason for this is that the academy aims to include literature from all the world's corners in their considerations, even those not widely translated into English. They also seek to award poets, playwrights and other types of writers. Who could surprise this year?

Check out:

Norwegian playwright Jon Fosse

Belarusian investigative journalist and author Svetlana Alexievich

Croatian novelist and essayist Dubravka Ugresic.

Other writers that may have caught the attention of the academy are Finnish author Sofi Oksanen, Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Jamaica Kincaid of Antigua, according to Maria Schottenius, a critic at Swedish daily Dagens Nyheter.

Established authors

Frequently mentioned Czech author Milan Kundera is still waiting for the prize

The academy works off of a constantly evolving list of candidates, and sometimes a big name resurfaces again and again. While some may have been overlooked early in their careers, widely known authors such as Britain's Doris Lessing, Peru's Mario Vargas Llosa, and Canada's Alice Munro eventually did walk off with the coveted prize.

Among the frequently mentioned candidates who are still waiting are:

Czech author Milan Kundera

Albanian writer Ismail Kadare

Algerian novelist Assia Djebar, and South Korean poet Ko Un.

Swedish literature critics have also suggested Israeli writers Amos Oz and David Grossman, as well as Americans Richard Ford and Philip Roth.

Bettors' favorites

Ngugi wa Thiong'o and his wife Njeeri at the 38th annual NAACP Image Awards in 2007

Kenyan writer Ngugi wa Thiong'o and Japanese author Haruki Murakami frequently top bettors' lists ahead of the announcement. While Thiong'o may indeed be a strong candidate, Murakami's position in the rankings is probably more a reflection of the fact that he is widely read, says Elise Karlsson, a critic at Swedish daily Svenska Dagbladet. Although the academy has stepped up efforts to prevent leaks before the announcement, the winner is still sometimes among those getting the most attention by bettors.

The winner will receive the prize of 8 million Swedish crowns ($1.1 million) from the Swedish king in Stockholm on Dec. 10.

What's Hot
More Trending News
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Pinterest